College Search

Nova Southeastern University

Nova Southeastern University (NSU) is a private research university located in Broward County, Florida. Originally founded as the Nova University of Advanced Technology on a former naval training airfield, the university has grown into the seventh largest nonprofit private university in the nation. The school’s 29,000 students study at one of three campuses in Southern Florida, including the 480-campus north of downtown Miami. This first-tier research university includes 18 colleges and schools offering over 175 programs of study with more than 250 majors in business, counseling, computer and information sciences, education, osteopathic medicine, dentistry, numerous health professions, law, marine sciences, psychology, and additional social sciences.

Fast Facts

Nova also offers professional degrees in law, business, osteopathic medicine, pharmacy, dentistry, optometry, and nursing. It is one of two schools of pharmacy and the only college of optometry and dental medicine in South Florida. It also has one of the only two doctoral programs for Conflict Analysis and Resolution in the United States.

The university has earned a strong reputation for programs for families, offered through the Mailman Segal Institute for Early Childhood studies and the University School of Nova Southeastern University. These include parenting, preschool, primary education, and secondary education programs. Nova Southeastern University also has two long-distance education centers (in the Bahamas and Jamaica) for international business students.

The university’s NSU Sharks compete in NCAA Division II Sunshine State Conference in 17 intercollegiate athletic programs.